The Democratic Party: A History

1. Introduction

The Democratic Party is one of the two oldest existing political parties in the world and is America’s oldest party. The Democratic Party can be traced back to the early days of the republic, when it was founded by Thomas Jefferson and others who opposed the policies of Alexander Hamilton and the Federalist Party. Over the years, the Democratic Party has undergone many changes, but it remains true to its roots as a party that believes in democracy, individual rights, and social justice.

2. The Democratic Party’s beginnings

The Democratic Party had its origins in the opposition to Alexander Hamilton’s economic policies. Hamilton, who was the first Secretary of the Treasury, favored a strong central government and a national bank. His opponents, led by Thomas Jefferson, believed in a more decentralized government with limited powers. They also favored agriculture over industry and states’ rights over federal power. Jefferson and his supporters formed the Democratic-Republican Party in 1792, which opposed Hamilton’s policies.

3. The Revolution and the independence of the United States

The American Revolution began in 1775, when colonists in Massachusetts took up arms against the British government. The Revolutionary War lasted until 1783, when the British were forced to recognize the independence of the United States. During the war, Jefferson served as a member of the Second Continental Congress, which drafted the Declaration of Independence. After the war, Jefferson served as America’s first Secretary of State under President George Washington.

4. The Articles of Confederation

After the Revolutionary War, the United States was governed by the Articles of Confederation. These articles gave too much power to the states and not enough to the central government. This led to problems such as financial instability and disputes between states. In 1787, delegates from all over the country met in Philadelphia to draft a new constitution. The Constitution created a more powerful central government while still protecting states’ rights. The Constitution was ratified by all thirteen states in 1788 and went into effect in 1789.

5. The Federalist Era

The Federalist Era began with George Washington’s election as president in 1789 and ended with Thomas Jefferson’s election in 1800. During this time, America was governed by the Federalist Party, which favored a strong central government. Under Washington and his successors, John Adams and James Madison, America experienced significant economic growth and became involved in international conflicts such as the XYZ Affair and the Quasi-War with France. The Federalist Era ended with Jefferson’s victory over Adams in 1800.

6. Thomas Jefferson and the Democratic-Republicans

Jefferson was a founder of the Democratic-Republican Party and served as its first president from 1800 to 1808. Under Jefferson’s leadership, America purchased Louisiana from France and doubled its size. Jefferson also presided over a period of economic growth known as “The American Prosperity.” However, Jefferson is also remembered for his opposition to slavery and his belief that all men are created equal. These beliefs led him to oppose American involvement in international conflicts such as Napoleon’s wars in Europe.

7. The War of 1812

In 1812, America declared war on Britain because of British interference with American shipping and because Britain was supporting Native American tribes who were attacking American settlers in the West (the so-called “War Hawks”). The War of 1812 was fought mainly in the Northeastern United States and Canada. The American victory in the Battle of New Orleans made Andrew Jackson a national hero. Jackson would later serve as President from 1829 to 1837.

8. The Era of Good Feelings

The Era of Good Feelings was a period of economic growth and political stability in America that lasted from 1815 to 1824. During this time, there was only one political party, the Democratic-Republican Party. James Monroe, who served as president from 1817 to 1825, is remembered for his foreign policy of “Monroe Doctrine,” which warned European nations not to interfere in the affairs of the Western Hemisphere.

9. The Jacksonian Era

The Jacksonian Era began with the election of Andrew Jackson as president in 1828 and ended with the Civil War in 1861. Jackson was a populist president who favored the common man over the wealthy elite. He also supported states’ rights and opposed the federal government’s interference in the affairs of individual states. Jackson’s policies led to economic growth and an expansion of democracy, but they also resulted in conflict between the North and South over the issue of slavery. The Jacksonian Era ended with the outbreak of the Civil War in 1861.

10. Conclusion

The Democratic Party is America’s oldest political party and has its origins in the opposition to Alexander Hamilton’s policies. The party has undergone many changes over the years, but it remains true to its roots as a party that believes in democracy, individual rights, and social justice.


The Democratic Party was founded in 1828 by Andrew Jackson.

The party has changed significantly over time, with a major split occurring in the 1860s between northern and southern Democrats. Since then, the party has undergone multiple realignments, becoming more liberal on economic issues while remaining conservative on social issues.

Some key moments in the party's history include Jackson's election in 1828, the Civil War, Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal policies during the Great Depression, and Lyndon B. Johnson's Great Society programs of the 1960s.

Some of the most influential Democrats throughout history include Jackson, Roosevelt, Johnson, and Bill Clinton.

Today, Democrats generally believe in government intervention to help improve society and promote equality, as well as support for civil rights and environmental protection. They are also typically more supportive of abortion rights than Republicans are.

The Democratic Party has fared quite well in recent elections; they have won control of both the House of Representatives and Senate multiple times since 2006 (with a brief Republican majority in both chambers from 2015-2017), and they currently hold a majority in the House (as well as a plurality in the Senate). In presidential elections, they have won four out of six contests since 1992 (losing only to Republicans George W Bush in 2000 and 2004).